Local support and coronavirus (COVID-19) guidance

Colchester Borough Council is providing support for residents, businesses, and communities. The government has announced that England has returned to Plan A. You should continue to protect yourself and others. Find further guidance on GOV.UK.

Wellness Walks at Highwoods Country Park

Led by fully trained volunteer walk leaders and Rangers, these free walks take place every other Friday and Sunday, starting from the Visitor Centre.

IN THIS ARTICLE

  • What are Wellness Walks

Led by fully trained volunteer walk leaders our FREE walks are an ideal way to improve fitness or mobility in a sociable atmosphere.

Friday Wellness Walks cater for all abilities and cover a 1 mile route that can be repeated to make a 2 mile walk and are held on alternate Fridays year round (bank holidays excluded).

  • Friday 11 February
  • Friday 25 February
  • Friday 11 March
  • Friday 25 March
  • Friday 8 April
  • Friday 22 April
  • Friday 6 May
  • Friday 20 May
  • Friday 17 June
  • Friday 1 July
  • Friday 15 July
  • Friday 29 July

 

Sunday Wellness Walks are usually around 3 miles taking in much of the Park’s scenery, held alternate Sundays year round (bank holidays excluded).

  • Sunday 6 February
  • Sunday 20 February 
  • Sunday 6 March
  • Sunday 20 March
  • Sunday 3 April
  • Sunday 15 May
  • Sunday 29 May
  • Sunday 12 June
  • Sunday 26 June 
  • Sunday 10 July
  • Sunday 24 July

 

Family Wellness Walks are led by a fully trained Ranger and are a chance for young families, new and expectant parents to come for a light stroll around the park to walk and talk, for FREE. Little ones are very welcome and the route is buggy friendly.
 

All walks take place at Highwoods Country Park, those taking part need to meet at the Visitor Centre at 11.00am.

 

Book a place

Walkers must not attend if they or anyone in their household is displaying symptoms of Covid.

To join the walk please arrive at the Visitor Centre before 11am to sign up, no need to book in advance. If you have any queries, please email the Countryside Park Ranger team at countryside@colchester.gov.uk.

Related Articles