Coronavirus: view the status of our services

We are providing information for residents, businesses, and communities which we will review and update regularly. View the latest updates, advice and guidance.


Get involved with tree planting

We are delighted to announce the public planting days for the 2021/22 planting season. As with previous years these days will be supported by Together We Grow CIC.

Areas for planting have been agreed working with the Woodland Trust, who supply the trees that will be planted, and local ward councillors.

Signs will also be placed at planting sites, giving residents contact details to find out more about the planned planting at these sites.

All the planting days under the project are supported by Together We Grow CIC, a not-for-profit Social Enterprise improving the lives of communities and individuals through encouraging engagement with nature, they are based at the beautiful Big Garden located in High Woods Country Park.

As well as supplying trees, the Woodland Trust are also providing biodegradable rabbit guards to help protect each tree without the risk of contaminating the environment with plastic debris. 

Join a tree planting event

We will be planting at several locations around Colchester. We would love you to register to come along and help us green the borough.

Book now
Date Location
Saturday 27 November 2021 Kings Head Meadow
Wednesday 1 December 2021 Kings Head Meadow
Saturday 4 December 2021 Magnolia Drive Open Space
Wednesday 8 December 2021 Magnolia Drive Open Space
Saturday 11 December 2021 St John’s Open Space
Wednesday 15 December 2021 St John’s Open Space
Saturday 8 January 2022 Wheatfield Road Open Space
Wednesday 12 January 2022 Community Orchard, Colchester Cemetery
Saturday 15 January 2022 Great Horkesley Jubilee Green
Wednesday 19 January 2022 Great Horkesley Jubilee Green
Saturday 22 January 2022 Speedwell Road Open Space
Saturday 29 January 2022 Queen Elizabeth Way Open Space
Wednesday 2 February 2022 Queen Elizabeth Way Open Space
Saturday 5 February 2022 Salary Brook Greenstead
Saturday 12 February 2022 Henrietta Close Open Space

When the Colchester Woodland and Biodiversity Project launched in 2019, we committed to plant 200,000 trees over 5 years. Whilst tree planting is just one part of this fantastic project, it is one where you can get involved and play your part

Become a Tree Guardian

Join residents from across the borough who are working together to develop a legacy of a greener Colchester for future generations and become a Tree Guardian. Our Tree Guardians are developing greener places by caring for newly planted areas of woodland as they grow.

Become a Tree Guardian

Our green-fingered supporters

See everyone who has taken part in the Colchester Woodland Project so far and joined us in helping to green the borough. Is your name on the list?

See our supporters

Page last reviewed: 3 September 2021