Reporting a dangerous dog

The Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 (DDA) is the law that covers dangerous and prohibited dogs.

Essex Police are responsible for dangerous and prohibited dogs.

Please call Essex Police on 101 if you have any concerns about a dangerous dog.

The law on dangerous dogs

Under the law, a dog can be considered dangerous in any place if it is not kept under control. A dog does not have to bite anyone, it can just be showing aggressive behaviour that would make someone fear for their safety.

Any dog can become dangerous in the wrong hands, and some dogs can become aggressive and bite other people or animals.

The ownership of four types of dogs are prohibited by the Dangerous Dogs Act and they are:

  • Pit Bull Terrier
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Fila Brasileiro

Illegal possession of one of these types of dog can result in a fine of up to £5,000 and/or six months imprisonment.

Page last reviewed: 5 October 2020


Subscribe to receive updates on Council news, events and offers, green living, leisure and sport, museums, committees, jobs and more.