Search site

Our Councillors, MPs and MEPs

Here are 326 representatives working for us across the European and UK Parliaments and at county, borough and parish levels. The figure is made up as follows:

  • seven Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) representing part of the UK's Eastern Region of the European Parliament
  • Three MPs in three constituencies
  • nine county councillors in nine county divisions
  • 51 borough councillors in 17 wards
  • 255 parish councillors in 31 parishes

You have to be on the Electoral Register to be able to vote at any local, national or European election.

Our MPs and constituencies

Constituency:  Colchester

Wards:  Berechurch, Castle, Greenstead, Highwoods, Mile End, New Town and Christ Church, Prettygate, Shrub End, St Anne's and St John's

MP and party: Will Quince MP, Conservative

Contact details and more information:   Will Quince MP contact information


Constituency: Harwich and North Essex

Wards: Lexden and Braiswick, Mersea and Pyefleet, Old Heath and The Hythe, Rural North, Wivenhoe,  Part of Tendring District Council area is included in the North Essex constituency.

MP and party: Mr Bernard Jenkin, MP, Conservative

Contact details and more information:  Mr Bernard Jenkin MP contact information


Constituency: Witham

Wards: Marks Tey and Layer, Stanway, Tiptree

MP and party:  Priti Patel, Conservative

Contact details and more information:  Priti Patel MP contact information

MEPs and constituencies

England - Eastern Region

The European Parliament is made up of 785 Members (MEPs) who are elected by 27 EU member countries. The UK is represented by 78 MEPs.

In the UK , there are 12 European electoral regions and each region is represented by between three and ten MEPs. The Eastern Region has seven European Parliament seats held by the following parties:

Area included: The counties of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk and the unitary councils of Luton, Peterborough, Southend and Thurrock.

See related link below for information on the Eastern Region MEPs.


County Councillors

Councillors are elected to serve for a term of 4 years. All Essex County Council seats come up for election at the same time in May in every fourth year. 

There are nine county divisions in the Colchester Borough area:- Abbey, Constable, Drury, Maypole, Mersea and Tiptree, Mile End and Highwoods, Parsons Heath and East Gates, Stanway and Pyefleet, Wivenhoe St Andrew.

Find your County Councillor

Borough Councillors

There are 51 borough councillors in 17 wards.

See related links below for more information.


Parish and Town Councils

There are 31 parishes in the Colchester Borough.  

See related pages below for more information